Snub Me Tender: A Love/Hate Story


Like everyone (trying to make it) in this industry I was ecstatic for the release of the 69th annual Golden Globe nominations a few weeks ago…until I saw it. Like every year there were television shows, films and names on the list that I thought the Hollywood Foreign Press clearly forgot to add and other shows, films and names on the list that I thought were a part of some Hollywood stunt put on by the producers of the new reboot of everyone’s favorite celebrity prank show “Punk’d.” It wasn’t until weeks later did I realize that this was in fact the real list. Oh, Lord.

FOX’s new “hit” television show, New Girl, starring Zooey Deschanel is nominated for best comedy over my beloved Parks and Rec on NBC. WHAT?! Having seen every episode of New Girl thus far, I can tell you that the funniest thing about it is the fact that someone thought it should be nominated for a Golden Globe. It’s not terrible per se, but don’t be fooled like most people by Zooey’s quirky personality and too-cute-for-her-own-good looks. The show doesn’t hold up in terms of comedy or originality, contrary to what the previews portray and Zooey can’t carry the ENTIRE show on her own. That’s too much to handle even for a girl with hipster glasses.

But let’s be honest, how surprised can I or anyone be about the New Girl of the world? It happens every year on most likely every nomination list of every award show be it the Grammy’s, the Emmy’s, the Oscar’s etc. not to anyone’s fault. Oh, no wait I’m wrong. We know exactly who to blame: the nomination committees.

To be fair though, everyone has their own opinions and preferences toward every subject in life so can we really say that these Hollywood insiders didn’t make the right decisions? We all know each and every one of our nomination lists would be different and somebody has to make the final call so why not them? I don’t think they would ever let bribery, nepotism and vanity get in the way of their choices…take a moment to chuckle to yourself.

In my mind, award shows are kind of irrelevant anyway (especially the Golden Globes. Don’t tell anyone I said that). They seem to be just a way to make artists, actors, directors, producers and the like feel accomplished and fulfilled when they don’t really need a trophy to feel that way. Their fans and superior work should already be sufficient enough to satisfy their hunger for constant recognition…or maybe not. But don’t get me wrong, if there ever comes a day when I win an Oscar I’d drop kick Betty White to get to it if I had to. Sorry Betty I love you, but this is my self-esteem we’re talking about.

There are, however, special instances where I do feel people should be proud of award ceremonies and in particular the snubbing that happens at them. I know, I know let me explain. In 1940, Hattie McDaniel, an African American woman, won the Oscar for best supporting actress for her role (as a maid) in Gone With The Wind. I can’t imagine what the conversation that the Academy members had about giving her the Oscar must have been like. Oh, to be a fly on the wall.

And, in my opinion, the Academy basically snubbed the other actresses in the category just so they could give it to Hattie which is pretty spectacular if you ask me. This leads me to the question, though, did Ms. McDaniel really deserve the award? My answer is “probably.” But the Academy knew they weren’t just giving an award to an African American woman. They were busting down a door that was long overdue for a good bustin’ and for that I tip my hat to them.

12 thoughts on “Snub Me Tender: A Love/Hate Story

  1. Anonymous says:

    Great post 🙂

  2. Anonymous says:

    Great post! 🙂

  3. Homepage says:

    As I internet site owner I believe the articles here is genuinely amazing , thankyou for your efforts. 513750

  4. /screenshots says:

    i was just browsing along and came upon your blog. just wantd to say fantastic website and this post truly helped me. 563447

  5. Walks says:

    Great task! 315904

  6. Hi there! Nice post! Please do inform us when we could see a follow up! 867361

  7. I simply must tell you that you have written an excellent and unique article that I really enjoyed reading. Im fascinated by how well you laid out your material and presented your views. Thank you. 277337

  8. maori says:

    Intriguing point of view. Im curious to feel what type of impact this would have globally? Sometimes men and women get slightly upset with global expansion. Ill be about soon to look at your response. 802691

  9. Im not certain exactly why but this web website is loading incredibly slow for me. Is anyone else having this issue or is it a issue on my end? Ill check back later and see if the issue still exists. 181551

  10. meuble tv says:

    Cool text dude, maintain up the excellent function, just shared this with the mates 355668

  11. I think one of your advertisements caused my browser to resize, you might want to put that on your blacklist. 838633

  12. […] Medicinal Walking For Health Walking For Fitness Walking Health Walking Movement This entry was posted in Uncategorized by […]

Comments...

