Oscar Predictions


The Academy Awards are in a week. I’ve decided to try predict what will win most of the major awards. I’ve left out a few categories because I feel totally unqualified (all the short categories) or just don’t really care (costume design). For each category I’ve listed the nominees, what I believe will win, what should win based on what was nominated, and some quick thoughts. And yes, when I realized how many awards The Artist is going to win I died a little inside.

Best Picture
“The Artist”
“The Descendants”
“Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close”
“The Help”
“Hugo”
“Midnight in Paris”
“Moneyball”
“The Tree of Life”
“War Horse”
What will win: The Artist
What should win: Moneyball

Thoughts: Everyone knows The Artist is going to win. You can read my review to see why I find this really dissapointing, but here’s a new reason. Midnight in Paris was Woody Allen’s most successful film in a very long time, but I have to ask… did no one understand the themes?

Best Director
Michel Hazanavicius, “The Artist”
Alexander Payne, “The Descendants”
Martin Scorsese, “Hugo”
Woody Allen, “Midnight in Paris”
Terrence Malick, “The Tree of Life”

What will win: Michel Hazanvicius, The Artist
What should win: Terrence Malick, The Tree of Life
Thoughts: Sigh… Malick did some magical stuff in The Tree of Life. The performances he gets from those kids… wow.

Best Actor
Demián Bichir, “A Better Life”
George Clooney, “The Descendants”
Jean Dujardin, “The Artist”
Gary Oldman, “Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy”
Brad Pitt, “Moneyball”

What will win: Jean Dujardin, The Artist
What should win: Gary Oldman, Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy

Thoughts: I still can’t believe Fassbender isn’t going to win this.

Best Actress
Viola Davis, “The Help”
Glenn Close, “Albert Nobbs”
Rooney Mara, “The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo”
Meryl Streep, “The Iron Lady”
Michelle Williams, “My Week With Marilyn”

What will win: Viola Davis, The Help
What should win: Viola Davis, The Help

Thoughts: I’ll be shocked if VIola Davis doesn’t win this.

Best Supporting Actor
Kenneth Branagh, “My Week With Marilyn”
Jonah Hill, “Moneyball”
Nick Nolte, “Warrior”
Christopher Plummer, “Beginners”
Max Von Sydow, “Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close”

What will win: Christopher Plummer, Beginners
What should win: Christopher Plummer, Beginners

Thoughts: This one has been written in stone for almost a year. His performance is great. I loved Beginners.

Best Supporting Actress
Bérénice Bejo, “The Artist”
Jessica Chastain, “The Help”
Melissa McCarthy, “Bridesmaids”
Janet McTeer, “Albert Nobbs”
Octavia Spencer, “The Help”

What will win: Octavia Spencer, The Help
What should win: Octavia Spencer, The Help
Thoughts: I haven’t seen The Help, but I hear such great things about the performances.

Best Writing (Adapted Screenplay)

“The Descendants”
“Hugo”
“The Ides of March”
“Moneyball”
“Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy”

What will win: The Descendants
What should win: Moneyball

Thoughts: I reallyyyyyy hope Moneyball wins. I think it has a great screenplay, but as I’ve said before… I really didn’t even like The Descendants screenplay. It was sexist and first third is FULL of crappy expository narration.

Best Writing (Original Screenplay)
“The Artist”
“Bridesmaids”
“Margin Call”
“Midnight in Paris”
“A Separation”

What will win: The Artist
What should win: A Separation

ThoughtsI didn’t love A Separation’s screenplay but it’s so much better than The Artist’s. Also, let’s be honest… Bridemaid’s screenplay is kind of bad. The film is incredibly funny, but the way that story unfolds isn’t so great. There are plenty of Independent films that deserve that spot.

Best Cinematography
“The Artist”
“The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo”
“Hugo”
“The Tree of Life”
“War Horse”

What will and better win: The Tree of Life

Thoughts: No other The Artist victory would sting more. Give Lubezki his Oscar!

Best Film Editing
“The Artist”
“The Descendants”
“The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo”
“Hugo”
“Moneyball”

What will win: The Artist
What should win: Moneyball

Thoughts: I really thought Moneyball was a very good film and deserves a lot of recognition. The way is cuts back and forth between past and present is very well done. The win streak sequence was amazing as well.

Best Music (Original Score)
“The Adventures of Tintin”
“The Artist”
“Hugo”
“Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy”
“War Horse”

What will win: The Artist
What should win: Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy

Thoughts: No real thoughts. Tinker had an amazing, atmospheric score that was incredibly effective.

Best Sound Editing
“Drive”
“The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo”
“Hugo”
“Transformers: Dark of the Moon”
“War Horse”

What will win: Hugo
What should win: Drive
Thought: I thought Drive’s sound editing was incredible. A certain gunshot was the most effective gunshot I’ve heard in a film. I scared the crap out of me, and it worked because of the amazing sound editing leading up to it.

Best Visual Effects
“Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2″
“Hugo”
“Real Steel”
“Rise of the Planet of the Apes”
“Transformers: Dark of the Moon”

What will win: Hugo
What should win: Rise of the Planet of the Apes

Thoughts: The work in Rise of the Planet of the Apes was great. I loved Caesar and I truly believe Andy Serkis deserves some kind of special recognition.

Best Foreign Language Film
“Bullhead” – Belgium
“Monsieur Lazhar” – Canada
“A Separation” – Iran
“Footnote” – Israel
“In Darkness” – Poland

What will win: A Separation
What should win: A Separation

Thoughts: I’ve only seen A Separation… The other films haven’t been released near me. A Separation is very good.

Best Documentary Feature
“Hell and Back Again”
“If a Tree Falls: The Story of the Earth Liberation Front”
“Paradise Lost 3: Purgatory”
“Pina”
“Undefeated”

What will win: If a Tree Falls
What should win: If a Tree Falls

Thoughts:I love If a Tree Falls. I don’t actually think it’ll win. I’m just really really hoping it does.


Tagged , , , , , ,

One thought on “Oscar Predictions

  1. […] Live Updates and Blog I’ve been pretty worked up about the Oscars this week. I’ve revealed my predictions and what would have been nominated if I was the Academy of One. I’ve complained and […]

Comments...

