The Academy of One: Sean’s Oscar Nominees and Winners


I’ve complained a lot about this years nominees. There were a lot of snubs, and reasons to be upset, but it’s an exciting time for a lot of people. I’ve heard many film people say, “The Oscars are my Super Bowl.” Really? As a sports fan and a movie fan I don’t understand the comparison in any way. Mostly because I don’t think the Oscars are really that relevant. The best films and most deserving films don’t get nominated, let a lone win. A more appropriate sports analogy would be, “The Oscars are my minor league world series.” There are exceptions, the 2008 Oscars (2007 films) had an amazing selection that included modern American classics like No Country for Old Men and There Will Be Blood, but this is rare. Instead of complaining about this years batch of nominees (which I will do again next year and the year after, I am human) I will reveal the films I would have nominated for most categories and my winners.

Best Picture
Drive
The Future
Martha Marcy May Marlene
Melancholia
Shame
Take Shelter
The Tree of Life
Weekend
Winner: Martha Marcy May Marlene and Take Shelter

Thoughts: I’ve been debating this for months. I love Martha Marcy May Marlene and Take Shelter and I can’t choose between them. It changes day by day. I saw The Future again. I still loved it, but it’s not a film that gets better after multiple viewings.

Best Director
Sean Durkin, Martha Marcy May Marlene
Miranda July, The Future
Jeff Nichols, Take Shelter
Steve McQueen, Shame
Lars von Trier, Melancholia
Winner: Steve McQueen, Shame

Thoughts: McQueen helped facilitate brilliant performances from Fassbender and Mulligan and made brilliant decision after brilliant decision with Shame.

Best Actor
Michael Fassbender, Shame
Ryan Gosling, Drive
Hunter McCracken, The Tree of Life
Gary Oldman, Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy
Michael Shannon, Take Shelter
Winner: Michael Fassbender

Thoughts: This category is a perfectly exemplifies why the Oscars are meaningless. The two best male performances of the year weren’t even nominated (Fassbender and Shannon).

Best Actress
Viola Davis, The Help
Kirsten Dunst, Melanchola
Elisabeth Olsen, Martha Marcy May Marlene
Meryl Streep, The Iron Lady
Charlize Theron, Young Adult
Winner: Viola Davis

Thoughts: One of the few awards the Academy will get right.

Best Supporting Actor
Albert Brooks, Drive
John Hawkes, Martha Marcy May Marlene
Jonah Hill, Moneyball
Christopher Plummer, Beginners
Patton Oswalt, Young Adult
Winner: John Hawkes

Thoughts: Hawkes was brilliant in MMMM as a cult leader. He was charismatic and scary. His performances affected me more than any other supporting actor this year.

Best Supporting Actress
Jessica Chastain, Take Shelter
Charlotte Gainborough, Melancholia
Melissa McCarthy, Bridesmaids
Carey Mulligan, Shame
Octavia Spencer, The Help
Winner: Carey Mulligan

Thoughts: Mulligan’s performance in Shame is completely heart breaking.

Best Writing (Adapted Screenplay)
Drive
Hugo
The Ides of March
Moneyball
Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy
Winner: Drive

Thoughts: I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again. Drive’s screenplay isn’t what you think of when you think great screenplay because we’re told great screenplays mean great dialogue. This isn’t true. Great screenplays create tension and conflict through characters actions. These actions propel the story forwards. Drive did this better than any film I saw this year.

Best Writing (Original Screenplay)
The Future
Martha Marcy May Marlene
Melancholia
Take Shelter
Weekend
Winner: Martha Marcy May Marlene

Thoughts: This film brilliantly blends the past, present, and imagined world of Olsen’s character. Slowly revealing new clues in incredibly subtle and interesting ways. I love this film so much, and it only gets better with mutiple viewings.

Best Cinematography
Martha Marcy May Marlene
Melancholia
Shame
Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy
The Tree of Life
Winner: The Tree of Life

Thought: Lubezki is the best cinematographer working today. I can’t wait to see what he does with Cuaron this year.

Best Film Editing
Drive
Martha Marcy May Marlene
Moneyball
Shame
The Tree of Life
Winner: Martha Marcy May Marlene

Thoughts: Same thoughts as screenplay, but there are some genius cuts in this film. I’ve mentioned this in other blog posts before.

Best Sound Editing
Drive
Martha Marcy May Marlene
Melancholia
Shame
The Tree of Life
Winner: Drive

Thoughts: The sound in Drive affected me more than any other film this year.

Best Documentary Feature
If a Tree Falls: The Story of the Earth Liberation Front
The Interrupters
Project Nim
Winner: The Interrupters

Thoughts: The Interrupters is probably the most important film of the year. It’s brilliant.


Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “The Academy of One: Sean’s Oscar Nominees and Winners

  1. […] I am human) I will reveal the films I would have nominated for most categories and my winners. Continue reading at IndiesUnchained! Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

  2. […] been pretty worked up about the Oscars this week. I’ve revealed my predictions and what would have been nominated if I was the Academy of One. I’ve complained and complained. It seems kind of silly because I don’t believe the […]

Comments...

