Was it all an Oscars dream?


I’m still rubbing my eyes in disbelief at what happened at Sundays’ Academy Awards. Where was the thrill in guessing who would go home with the gold, the witty writing for the host and overall brevity of the whole shebang. The night was just too full of predictability compared to last years awards show. Here’s hoping there’s worthy films coming out next season that bring back the Oscars I know and love. Still, I did click off my TV at the end of the night inspired, despite Billy’s blackface.

If anything, I’ve learned this Oscars season is that America likes convention. Good for them. Knowing this, I can charge into my own scripts refreshed. What Gabby Sidibe said in the “Movie Reflections” segment really stung my heart (“But if I can see myself I know I exist.”). I mean that’s precisely why I’m driving myself to write feature scripts. I know convention says I should become proficient in short films. Master the small circuit before I go to the big leagues, but I grew up on the features. I have long loved the 2 hours in the dark theater, hoping to get lost in someone’s elses journey. However 9 times out of ten that someone did not look me. So, with the truth finally being revealed to whole world about just who deems one film, one actor, one actress the best of the best, I press forward. Because I do exist. Convention be damned.

Oh and another thing…did you see the faces on the ‘Undefeated’ team last night. Seriously, I was live-tweeting with the IndiesUnchained crew and I just thought did they graduate from film school in December? Age really ain’t nothing but a number.  It turns out it was their first film and they did just graduate from film school! Wow, to walk out of there with a golden statue in a room full of the greatest and therefore oldest artists of our time, that means something. For me watching at home, I saw a bright flame of hope on stage. If you’ve got the drive and you put in the time to create quality work, there’s not reason to say “If I get an Oscar.” Just say when.

Of course, the Twitter feed doesn’t lie. Here’s what I remember happening during the telecast. *Cue dream sequence wavy lines*

8:31 PM@mattrorabeck: Is Morgan Freeman narrating The Oscars? #oscars” HAH thinking the same thing!

8:52 PM Forrest Gump, Titanic & …Twilight? #oneofthesethingsdoesnotbelong 

9:09 PM “Respect all cultures and despise hostility and resentment.”#wordstoliveby

9:13 PM Standing ovation for Octavia…this means something, folks!

9:28 PM Marty’s dedication to working with the same production team on each film is inspiring. Thelma’s edited all of his films.

9:30 PM Is it really surprising that the Academy loves HUGO and THE ARTIST? Reminds them of a simpler time, considering their demo.

9:44 PM Did the ‘Undefeated’ film team JUST graduate film school? So young.

9:45 PM Chris Rock is the closest thing we’re going to get to Eddie Murphy tonight. Sad face.

9:49 PM Agreed. They were sooo close. RT @shadowandact: “Chico & Rita” got robbed.

9:55 PM Emma Stone is killing it! Her and Chris Rock are saving the #Oscars.

10:05 PM “You’re only 2 years older than me.” – Christopher Plummer says to #Oscar statue. That’s called class, folks.

10:15 PM The composer has no formal training and wins an #Oscar. Seriously? Best score goes to THE ARTIST.

10:18 PM Zack’s shout-out to “It’s Hard out Here for a Pimp” as previous#Oscar Best Song winner. Hilarious.

10:27 PM Plug #Community, Jim, please for the love of God, tell them the show is back! #oscars

11:20 PM Dang, Jean Dujardin’s speech is so charming. “Thank you! I love your country.”

11:30 PM “I could hear half of America going AWW C’MON why her again!” Meryl knows what’s up! #oscars

11:41 PM First ‘King’s Speech’, now ‘The Artist’. Academy, make up your mind: movies about overcoming speech difficulties or miming?

Tagged , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Was it all an Oscars dream?

  1. The news Lucy Liu cast as Watson in Elementary has made all of Casa Mexico change their minds from ‘won’t watch’ to ‘PUT IT IN OUR EYES.’

  2. “I mean that’s precisely why I’m driving myself to write feature scripts. I know convention says I should become proficient in short films. Master the small circuit before I go to the big leagues, but I grew up on the features. I have long loved the 2 hours in the dark theater, hoping to get lost in someone’s elses journey. However 9 times out of ten that someone did not look me. So, with the truth finally being revealed to whole world about just who deems one film, one actor, one actress the best of the best, I press forward. Because I do exist. Convention be damned.”

    Yes! Exactly this.

    Short films aren’t my forte. I’ve made them and they always end up being too convoluted because I subconsciously try to squeeze a feature into a short.

    I also went to film school with a guy who was the same. The first film he made post film school was a feature and it wasn’t half bad.

    The same method of learning is not going to work for everybody. Some people build up their skill slowly with shorts while other’s jump right in, and you’ll find failures and successes in whichever group you fall into. So if features are what you burn for, that’s what you should make. And don’t wait around for the studios to give you money to do it! Cheers 🙂

Comments...

