Guide to Free Advance Film Screenings


Have you ever wanted to see a movie… for free… weeks… even months before they come out? I’m sure you’re answer is a resounding, “Yes!” I moved to Boston (my first big city) last summer and realized studios do free advanced screenings ALL the time. Recently, 21 Jump Street has had at least 6 advance screenings over the past 2 months. And guess what… these screenings aren’t just for film journalists or professionals. They’re pretty easy to get into. For example, since I moved to Boston I have seen Attack the Block, Rise of the Planet of the Apes, 50/50, Martha Marcy May Marlene (with director Q and A), Drive, Moneyball, Like Crazy (director Q and A), The Descendants, The Artist (with director Q and A), The Ides of March, Our Idiot Brother, Young Adult, Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocal, Silent House, 21 Jump St, and probably some more… In this blog I’ll introduce you to how I get into these free movies (if you big in a city that is).

Gofobo.com: This is the most important site for free advance screenings. All you have to do is type in your zip code and it will show you all the scheduled free screenings. There are “Open Screenings” and “Private Screenings”. If the movie says “Open Screening” that means anyone can RSVP for the movie, but here’s the thing. A lot of people know about this. It’s your responsibility to check the site every day incase a new screening is put up. It’s not a big deal. It takes a few seconds to check. If you’re bored on you’re computer just do it. Usually, new screenings are posted towards the beginning of the week around 9:00 am. If an open screening is full you can always check back. Sometimes people drop out and free up spots. I’ve got into a couple movies this way. Now, I’m sure you’re asking, “What about the private screenings?”

How to get into Private Screenings: You need to find the “secret” rsvp codes. Luckily there are a few handy sites that do that for us. Here are the ones I’m currently aware of:

I have to let you know. You are not going to get into every film you want, but you probably be able to get into at least a free movie every month. Which is pretty awesome. Here are a couple other handy sites:

http://www.cinemit.com/: This site gives away free screenings sometimes.

http://advancescreenings.com/: This site kind of just recaps Gofobo. But sometimes different screenings will pop. DO NOT make the mistake of relying on this site over Gofobo. Advance Screenings takes hours to update already scheduled screenings on Gofobo. I use to miss out on screenings because of this.

I’ll periodically update this post with new sites as I find them. Sometimes the people running these sites just give up, or sometimes a new better one appears. I hope you find your way into some free advance screenings.

 

Tagged , , ,

5 thoughts on “Guide to Free Advance Film Screenings

  1. […] blog I’ll introduce you to how I get into these free movies (if you big in a city that is). Find out how at IndiesUnchained! Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

  2. George Mathew says:

    GetScreening.com is another good site to find screening links.

  3. Jada says:

    I was suggested this web site by means of
    my cousin. I’m now not certain whether this put up is written by means of him as nobody else understand such specific about my difficulty. You are wonderful! Thank you!

  4. […] Guide to Free Advance Film Screenings | Indies … – Mar 12, 2012  · Guide to Free Advance Film Screenings … How to get into Private Screenings: … on this site over Gofobo. Advance Screenings takes hours to update … […]

Comments...

