New Trailer: “Beasts of the Southern Wild”


I have been watching this beautiful trailer nonstop since it dropped earlier today via tweet from Sundance. BEASTS OF THE SOUTHERN WILD was actually the first screening I attended while volunteering at the festival earlier this year (read review here). It was nice to relive the vibrant memories through Youtube. I was ecstatic when it was picked up by Fox Searchlight AND won the Grand Jury prize. I’m so glad Fox Searchlight saw the potential of the film, especially since these folks know how to market indies. Directed by emerging filmmaker Benh Zeitlin, BEASTS heads to select theaters June 29th.

America, get ready to meet Hushpuppy!

Official Sundance Film Festival poster turned theatrical release movie poster!

Tagged , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “New Trailer: “Beasts of the Southern Wild”

  1. NinaG says:

    so ready for this!

  2. […] A couple days ago Fox Searchlight released the trailer for Beasts of the Southern Wild. This is easily one of my most anticipated films of the year, but I have to be honest… and it kills me to say this. I did not love the trailer. I haven’t seen the film, but based on what I’ve heard about it, it appears Fox Searchlight tried to make the film appear a little more mainstream and sentimental. Which is honestly a good decision on their part. It’ll make more people go see the film. I’m just spoiled and love the art of trailers. Another thing to keep in mind. It seems like people who have seen the film (like our own Christina) love this trailer. It allows them to relive the magic they felt when they watched the film. But if you felt a little underwhelmed by this trailer, I highly suggest you watch Glory at Sea, the short Benh Zeitlin made that became Beasts of the Southern Wild (which you can watch above).I’m going to be honest. This short crushed me. Sure, the technical skills aren’t brilliant, but I was a crying mess, almost instantly. It beautiful, poetic, raw, and emotionally devastating. Any director with so much empathy and the skill to reach into another person’s soul and affect them the way this short did has my attention. And the adjectives I was just throwing around? Those are the adjectives that are being used to describe Beasts of the Southern Wild. If he can pack half as much emotion into 90 minutes the film will be great. If he packed just as much emotion, or some how exceeds the power of this short I don’t know if I’ll be able to handle it. So yeah, needless to say… See Beasts of the Southern Wild when it’s released. […]

  3. Sally Smith says:

    I saw this poster on the wall at Cinemapolis and new I had to see it!

Comments...

