First-Time Director Diaries from The Atlantic Online


If I had a dollar for every post here that was influenced by Twitter, well I wouldn’t exactly be rich but I’d have a good chunk of change. Last week another eye-catching tweet came my way that just screamed “unchained”. The online edition of The Atlantic will be featuring a new column by new filmmaker Neil Drumming as he embarks on directing BIG WORDS, his first feature (read HERE).

I was hooked from the introductory post, wonderfully titled “Wait, Why am I directing a movie?”. I don’t know about you, but it’s not everyday I have an inside look at the filmmaking process from a first-time filmmaker as the shoot is taking place. Neil opens the first entry with a recap of how he made it to the director’s chair. I felt his story was instantly very relatable. He went to USC for film, has a passion for movies and understands that a feature (especially one’s first feature) is a very ambitious project to take on.

It is that decision to say YES! to directing your first feature film that stood out most to me in Neil’s director diaries. I know that sometimes I get caught up in romantic dreams of fancy title credits, a cast full of great unknown actors and film festival acclaim, but it’s really that one moment in the quiet that strikes the match on this cinematic fire. Like Neo from THE MATRIX, you can either choose the red pill or the blue pill. If you do choose to venture down the rabbit hole of feature filmmaking, learn from those who have gone before you. Neil’s posts regarding his process might just be a good place to start.

Check out his latest entry HERE  and stay tuned courtesy of The Atlantic online!

Tagged , , , , , ,

Comments...

