Great Podcasts for Indies on the go


If you’re tired to death of hearing “Somebody I Used To Know” by Gotye or “We Are Young” by Fun, switch off the predictable radio and put these podcasts on shuffle today. You’ll learn a ton and maybe even be inspired to jumpstart your latest project this summer. The internet is a big place so I thought I’d list three of my favorite film podcasts. They’re all FREE and available through iTunes. There’s something for everybody – writing tips, technical production advice and industry-related roundtables.   Since graduating from film school last year, I’ve learned the same lesson over and over: You can’t afford to stop learning. If you have a wifi connection, a countless years worth of the best film school education is right at your fingertips. And it’s FREE. Take a listen for yourself. It’ll be better than anything on the radio this summer, I promise.

Shadow and Act

iTunes Description: “The saying goes… those who are crazy enough to think they can change the world, are the ones who do. So, do something… become dynamite and explode! Created and managed by TAMBAY A OBENSON.”

Click HERE to subscribe on iTunes.

Why I listen: I love the S&A blog (read here) and the podcast is like being invited to a weekly Hollywood hot-topics panel hosted by the blog’s contributors. If you feel (like I do) that the general film community rehashes the same three news stories a week, I think you’ll find S&A very refreshing. I always walk away with a new perspective on what it means to be a filmmaker in 2012, especially as a woman of color. I’ve been going through serious withdrawal since the S&A podcast has been on hiatus, however the iTunes catalog will certainly hold listeners (old and new) over while the hosts are away.

Scriptnotes

iTunes Description: “Screenwriters John August and Craig Mazin discuss screenwriting and related topics in the film and television industry, everything from getting stuff written to the vagaries of copyright and work-for-hire law.”

Click HERE to subscribe on iTunes.

Why I listen: They say “No man is an island.” and I believe the same goes especially for writers. It’s nice having the wisdom of writers who have been in the industry offering insight without having to pay crazy fees or travel to LA or NYC. I often play an episode of this show before attacking script pages.

The Double Down Show

iTunes Description: “The Double Down Film Show is an hour long experience of “real talk” about what it takes to get your project from script to screen. Pete Chatmon and Anthony Artis deliver all of the production, technology, business, and motivational support that filmmakers need to achieve their filmmaking dreams. Each week our guests include entertainment celebrities, leading industry thinkers, and hustlers on the rise. Place your bets on The Double Down Film Show!” (iTunes.com)

Click HERE to subscribe via iTunes.

Why I listen: When I listen to this series, it feels as if I’m sitting in on the coolest career days. The working filmmaker hosts bring the best DIY-ers in the field right to your fingertips. Technical film/video production advice is hard to come by outside of the classroom, but since listening to these guys, I’ve got notepads full of tips that are just as valuable as the degree in my closet.

Tagged , , , , , ,

One thought on “Great Podcasts for Indies on the go

  1. revjonflores says:

    Do you ever listen to KCRW’s “Martini Shot” or “The Business”? I enjoy them when I catch them. They’re on the KCRW.com podcast tab (http://www.kcrw.com/podcasts) which also has a ton of other great podcasts, as well as on iTunes. Oh, and I have no idea who Fun and Gotye are. I won’t even attempt to pronounce the latter.

Comments...

