Unchained Resources: NoFilmSchool.com


A couple of weeks ago, I was basking in the “Failure FTW” panel with Ted Hope and Edward Burns from VimeoFest (my recap here) and today it turns out another conversation I’d wanted to see has been uploaded too. “The Fine Art of Getting Paid” features filmmaker Ryan Koo discussing all things Kickstarter and his amazing site, NoFilmSchool.com. I can’t wait to check out the hour-long chat and will return with a recap this week. You can watch the full talk here. For now, I’d like to share Ryan Koo’s site, NoFilmSchool.com.

If there’s one thing I don’t pretend to be an expert in, its cameras. They actually terrified me in college, especially the ancient Bolex. But luckily, there are resources like NFS which make diving in the technical equipment side of filmmaking a little less scary. You get first hand insight from a working filmmaker, whose own story sounds very familiar (he introduces himself with “When I started this site in 2005 I was unemployed and living with my parents in North Carolina”). From that year off to working at MTV to raising over $125,000 on Kickstarter for his feature “Manchild”, I’d say Ryan Koo is definitely one of the smart folks in the room. If that’s still not an incentive to stop on over to NFS, just by subscribing to the site’s email list, you’ll receive a free pdf of Ryan’s 114 page DSLR Cinematography guide. FOR FREE! Click here to get yours today.

Tagged , , , , , ,

Comments...

