Have You Read a Script Today?


Since there are still 10 long days until Season 5 of Breaking Bad premieres and my local movie theater chain is never going to screen Moonrise Kingdom, I thought I’d start out this month easing back into a scriptwriting schedule. While I’m not quite ready to outline, I did glance back at a bookmark from my favorite site, Go Into The StoryOne of my unofficial gurus for all things screenwriting, Scott Myers, offers a gem called “1, 2, 7, 14.” for writers (season and emerging) that I think is worth trying out.

It goes a little something like this…

It is a simple formula to do three things — Read Scripts. Watch Movies. Write Pages. — you need to do to expand and deepen your understanding of the screenwriting craft. 4 numbers for you to remember: 1, 2, 7, 14.

  • Read 1 screenplay per week.
  • Watch 2 movies per week.
  • Write 7 pages per week.
  • Work 14 hours per week prepping a story.

Like any exercise advice, I think “1, 2, 7, 14.” can gradually be implemented into an indie’s weekly schedule. First things first, let’s read some screenplays other than our own.

When it comes to finding feature film scripts to read, I am just now realizing how spoiled I was to have access to my college’s library collection. I much prefer being able to feel the actual text pages, but make do with two sites recommended by another script guru, Carson Reeves of ScriptShadow. Both Drew’s Script-O-Rama  and Simply Scripts  offer all sorts of screenplays for all your research/inspiration/homage needs. Most are available in downloadable PDFs too. Did I mention these are available FOR FREE? Awesomesauce.

You can read the rest of the  “1, 2, 7, 14.” post HERE. Happy reading and may your own script pages come a little easier today.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Comments...

