How I Learned To Love Film Crit Hulk


Who is Film Crit Hulk, you ask? Well at first, I thought he was a zany film kid with a really bad habit of typing movie reviews with the caps lock on. Fellow contributor Sean is a big fan, but I just didn’t get the appeal. When Hulk got recruited by Badass Digest, a well-known cinema blog, I started thinking maybe this wasn’t just a gimmick at all. So I began to follow him on Twitter and often found his comments insightful and even got used to the all caps text.

There was one single tweet last week that full cemented my admiration for the big green guy. A post simply titled “WHAT MAKES A MOVIE GOOD?“. I usually bookmark interesting Twitter finds to read later on my computer, but instead read the whole thing on my phone during my lunch break. And it was of course, in all caps and the most wonderful thing I’ve read in a LONG time.

There were some many points Hulk made that resonated with me that I  almost didn’t finish my meal. I just had to share this one in particular:

THIS IS THAT MYTHICAL “CONNECTION” WE TALK ABOUT.

THE CONNECTION OF ART. THE CONNECTION OF PURPOSE. THE CONNECTION OF EDUCATION. IT’S ALL A PART OF IT AND YES, EVEN CRITICISM SHOULD BE BASED ON THE FUNDAMENTAL PILLARS OF EDUCATION. FACTS. HISTORY. PURPOSE. CONVERSATION. NUANCE. INSPIRATION. TRUTH. BEAUTY.

AND YET, HULK SEES SO MANY REVIEWS THAT ESSENTIALLY SHUT DOWN THE CONNECTION. REVIEWS THAT DECLARE, THAT SHOUT, THAT GLOAT OR SNIPE AT OTHER THINKING, THAT PROCLAIM IT NEANDERTHAL-ESQUE, OR ELITIST THINKING. REVIEWS THAT ARE THERE ONLY TO BE STATED. TO HULK, THIS KIND OF CRITICISM IS JUST AS BAD AS A MOVIE THAT INDULGES THE VERY LIMITS OF DIDACTISM OR CYNICAL COMMERCE. BOTH ARE FORGETTING THE VERY PURPOSE OF ART.

AND THAT IS TO MAKE US FEEL ALIVE. TO LIVE IN THE SUBJECTIVE CONNECTION. IF A REVIEWER WANTS TO DO THE SAME, THEY MUST GO BEYOND MERE QUESTIONS OF ARCHIVAL WORTH. THE VERY BEST CRITICISM SHOULD STRIVE TO CONNECT TO PEOPLE IN THE SAME WAY THE BEST MOVIES DO. WHY CAN’T CRITICISM CHANGE A PERSON’S MIND? OFTEN THEY MAY PROVIDE SOME KIND OF NEW THINKING THAT HELPS EXPAND YOUR SENSE OF UNDERSTANDING, BUT WHY CAN’T IT MAKE SOMEONE LAUGH? OR CRY? OR THINK ABOUT THEIR LIVES IN A WAY THAT MAKES THEM TRULY PRESENT AND ALIVE?

WHY CAN’T CRITICISM BE JUST AS IMPORTANT?

Finally someone said what I’d always been trying to articulate in my film theory classes when I was in college and even more so why I’m hesitant every time I write about a film I’ve seen for this very blog.  A big thanks to Film Crit Hulk for speaking on this. If reading in all caps isn’t for you, Hulk often suggests this site : convertcase.net

I’m going to keep an eye on this guy from now on. You can too at http://badassdigest.com/category/film-crit-hulk-smash.

Tagged , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “How I Learned To Love Film Crit Hulk

  1. HULK EARNESTLY THANK FOR THE KIND WORDS!

  2. Great find, Christina! I’ll add FILMCRITHULK to my other two Hulk twitter followees, UUHULK and GRAMMARHULK. Wow, FILMCRIT, you gave ma a lot to ponder about TASM. I thought Garfield was much more watchable that Maguire, but your (many) points about story ring true.

Comments...

