Unchained Movie Nights: “Casa de mi Padre”


“Scheming on a way to save their father’s ranch, the Alvarez brothers find themselves in a war with Mexico’s most feared drug lord.” (via IMDb.com)

I recently stumbled on this great site called ondvdreleases.com, which lists when the latest films come out on across all platforms (DVD, Netflix, Redbox, iTunes, Amazon). CASA DE MI PADRE, released on 7/17, was another “missed at SXSW” film for me and I was very happy to find a copy at my neighborhood Redbox yesterday. I was a bit hesitant, of course. In the “Making of” DVD extra, Ferrell said he’d always wanted to do a Spanish language film, which I’d say is a risk a lot of Hollywood studios aren’t exactly taking these days. He admitted that he relied on his high school/college Spanish class knowledge, but really did work with a translator for a month on the script/went over lines each day before shooting. With co-stars like Diego Luna and Gael Garcia Bernal, it feels like and looks like an old school Mexican telenovela, but there still weren’t as many laughs as I wanted there to be.

The big question on my mind since hearing about the film: was this a genuine Spanish language film that just happened to star comedic American actor Will Ferrell OR a big inside joke between audiences and Farrell not to be taken seriously at all? So, which is it? I watched the whole thing and well…I think the following clip sums up my reaction perfectly.

Tagged , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Unchained Movie Nights: “Casa de mi Padre”

  1. […] can check out my review here, but I recommend you see it to believe it. It’s Will Ferrell speaking Spanish. For real. […]

  2. […] Remember that time Will Ferrell made a Mexican telenovela film completely in Spanish? “Casa de mi Padre” is now streaming on Netflix. My review HERE . […]

Comments...

