Teaser for Shane Carruth’s New Film, Upstream Color


I love this teaser. I don’t care that I have no idea what’s happening. I’ve said it before, but I really prefer teasers and trailers that sell their films with tone and images instead of giving away the whole plot. And boy, the atmosphere and this film looks amazing. If you don’t know, this is Shane Carruth’s first film since he won the Grand Jury Prize at the 2004 Sundance Film Festival with Primer, NINE YEARS AGO!

Primer was made for $7,000. Shane Carruth wrote, directed, starred, edited and wrote the score for the film. He had never made a film before, and one day he decided wanted to give it a try. So he did a lot of research and wrote a screenplay. Some how he planned and rehearsed each shot so meticulously that he spent less than $7,000 making a feature film that was shot ON FILM. His shooting ratio was 2:1, which is just ridiculous. The shooting ratio for my thesis was somewhere between 15:1 and 20:1. I’m not convinced $7000 would be enough money for a 20 minute movie shot on film in my hands. He finished the film. Sent it to Sundance. Called them every day to make sure it was actually watched. Then BAM, it won best film at Sundance. Definitely a huge inspiration for independent filmmakers everywhere. I wonder how much he made Upstream Color for?

213866-Shane-Carruth-Upstream-Color-sundance-film-festival

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “Teaser for Shane Carruth’s New Film, Upstream Color

  1. Bryan says:

    Can’t wait. You probably know this, but Carruth was some sort of minor consultant on Looper, I think to do with the functionality of the time travel plot (or it might have been effects, I don’t remember). Seems like a cool guy.

Comments...

