Gatekeeper QOTD: Shari Frilot (Sundance Senior Programmer)


Frilot_IU
EBONY: What things do you look for in selecting films for the festival?
Shari Frilot: We pride ourselves on being a discovery festival, which is a mission that I take to heart. One of the things that my team members and I respond to are points of originality in terms of a film’s voice, subject matter or performances. .We select the kind of films that will spark popular dialogue that is well-suited for the Sundance. Ultimately, we are looking for stories that work in deep, sensuous, biochemical ways and define how we see ourselves, how we see the world and how we imagine our future. I love storytellers who push me beyond what I know and encourage me to see differently. I am looking for filmmakers who are on top of their craft and very clear in their vision in a courageous way. In other words, they trust their voice and are focused on creating work that is entertaining and transformative.

From  All Roads Lead to Sundance Film Festival —  Ebony.com

Tagged , , , , , ,

Comments...

